The Computing Department

  • Mr B. Horton - Head of Computing 
  • Miss Z. Sheikh - Computing Teacher
  • Mr J. Brooker - Computing Teacher


Curriculum Intent

Our aim is to ensure learners are informed, active and empowered participants in an increasingly digital society. The three pillars of progression in our subject area are Computing (computational thinking principles applied to solve real world problems, sequence, selection and iteration), Information Technology (digital artefacts and computing contexts) and Digital Literacy (demonstrating fluency in the use of technology). Our intent is to deliver an ambitious curriculum with concepts that spiral through key stages to deepen knowledge as the key stages progress.

Key Stage 3

The scope of the Key Stage 3 curriculum is broad and ambitious throughout years 7 to 9.  Our course starts with e-safety to ensure pupils are aware of online dangers and they are taught functional IT skills from the start.  We provide opportunities to demonstrate their fluency in the use of technology through our immersive computing curriculum. The Year 7 learning journey includes computational thinking, programming with Scratch (block-based programming), the structure of networks and how spreadsheets work.  As a result, students develop a deeper understanding of information technology and digital literacy.

In Year 8 we build on knowledge and understanding of computing, information technology and digital literacy by exploring and learning about computer systems, text-based programming in Python, data representation, mobile app development (using block-based programming), searching and sorting algorithms (computational thinking applied to create searching and sorting algorithms), website design and coding with HTML and CSS.

Year 9 students continue to deepen their knowledge and understanding of information technology by learning about cybersecurity. They then move on to data science, physical computing with BBC micro bits, databases and audio and visual representations.

Key Stage 4

GCSE Computer Science

OCR J277

The GCSE Computer course follows the OCR syllabus. The three pillars of Computing are evident throughout the course over a two-year period. In year 10 pupils learn components of a computer system, data representation, networks, ethical and cultural issues. In year 11 the course develops into computational thinking, algorithms and programming. Pupils learn about algorithms, programming and design testing and IDEs.

The course is assessed by two written external examinations.

BTEC – Digital Information Technology.

The BTEC Level 2 course follows the Pearson syllabus. In Year 10 there are two units: exploring user interface design and collecting, presenting and interpreting data. In Year 11 students learn about effective digital working practices consolidating their prior learning on cybersecurity, networks, ethical and cultural issues.

The course is assessed by two pieces of coursework and one written external examination.

Key Stage 5

BTEC National Information Technology – Level 3

The BTEC Level 3 course follows the Pearson syllabus. In Year 12 there are two units, where students learn how to create and manage information and a unit on using social media in Business.

In Year 13 students continue to develop their computing expertise with units on website development (HTML, CSS) and information technology systems.

The course is assessed by two pieces of coursework, one written external examination and two practical database examinations.


Exam Board GCSE Computer Science OCR 

Exam Board BTEC Tech Award Digital Information Technology 

Exam Board BTEC National Information Technology 

Websites for Computing and IT 




Curriculum Summary

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now